Therapeutic gleanings from the garden

Image

My patio garden

“It’s hypnotic watching you…” my neighbor observed.  “The way you care for your plants is an art form.”  I was taken a bit by surprise at having been “watched” while in the solitude of my little patio garden during off hours of the day. 

Image

Sun-drenched daisies
BME photo

Pleased to know others share my appreciation for the craft, I had the honor to help restore her lovely wooded herb garden earlier in the season where we exchanged plants from lamb’s ear and bountiful sweet woodruff, to my sun-loving daisies transplanted across her treed fence line.  Like raising the bedroom blind, the hearty American daisies beam with the bright morning sunshine from the east.

Image

Variegated grasses make a natural fence

Japanese irises and decorative grasses formulate a dense border discouraging deer from crossing her path.

Image

Hanging double and purple petunias attract wildlife
BME photo

I’m happy to have a place I can go to “take me away”, as the commercial used to proclaim.  For years I have kept hanging baskets of petunias which require dead-heading to encourage growth and stimulate new blossoms.  They can become “stringy” and won’t last the winter.  Personally, I refuse to kill any plants and rather let nature take its course, but have been accused of artificially respirating the botanicals with whom I have shared a bond and come to know fondly in my outdoor home.   In his recent blog post “A Garden for the House”, Kevin Lee Jacobs outlines tips for re-rooting petunias over the winter so as to have beautiful baskets for the following year.

Image

A rosy view on life
BME photo

This is just a sampler of the goings-on in my garden.  I stop and “take time to smell the roses”, snap a pic or twelve, watch the clouds blow by and commune with nature. 

Image

One of our many winged visitors
BME photo

My mind wanders with the wind and my thoughts are carried on the wings of the birds, bees and other insects alike that frequent here.  This is my space where I may be one with life’s growing cycle and those just visiting…if only for a brief time.

Image

Several varieties of bees eat freely
BME photo

It stimulates my mind, my body, my senses and my soul; and is my therapy.

Image

“Guiding Star Clematis”- colorful cascading fence covering
BME photo

3 thoughts on “Therapeutic gleanings from the garden

  1. roberta4949 says:

    I could sit on your patio and drink me a cold lemonade and do a little bird watching, cloud watching or just plain sun bath and maybe with a little book to read or a drawing book.l but if I am not careful I might start to rearrange things or add plants or increase the number of climbers all around, like I did my garden today, I think I just get new ideas to try, and get bored with the same thing or as the plants grow what was pretty neat becomes overgrown and cluttered, I like informal gardens myself what say you? I have that variegated grass too,

    Like

  2. herbanaut says:

    Wow!! Absolutely beautiful garden!!! I love it already. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

